New chair for Committee on Radioactive Waste Management

Published on Tuesday, 10 July 2012 11:21
Posted by Scott Buckler

Professor Laurence Williams has today been appointed as Chair of the Committee on Radioactive Waste Management. He will take up the post in November 2012, for a period of four years

Professor Williams is currently Professor of Nuclear Safety at the University of Central Lancashire (UCLAN). Professor Williams has a long and distinguished career in the field of nuclear regulation, including as the Government's Chief Inspector of Nuclear Installations from 1998 to 2005.

Energy Minister Charles Hendry said:

"Professor Williams brings a wealth of experience in the nuclear industry, particularly in regulation.

"This makes him extremely well-placed to lead CoRWM as the committee takes forward the vital role of scrutinising and advising Government on its radioactive waste management policy.

"I look forward to working closely with Professor Williams to make further progress in this area.

"I would also like to thank personally the current Chair, Professor Robert Pickard, for his hard work and dedication over the last four-and-a-half years.

"The MRWS process has come a long way in that time and I have greatly valued the role played by CoRWM under Robert's Chairmanship and expertise. I wish him well in his future work."

Alongside this appointment, the Department of Energy and Climate Change published its 2011/12 annual report to Parliament on the Managing Radioactive Waste Safely programme.

The report shows that that steady progress is being made in managing the implementation of geological disposal, working within the underpinning principles of voluntarism and partnership with local communities.

Source: ©DECC

The views expressed in the contents below are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of GovToday.

Add comment